Skip to Content

Ovo vegetarianism

« Back to Glossary Index

– Etymology:
Ovo vegetarianism term first used in 1952
– Ovo originates from Latin word ovum, meaning egg
– Diet excludes meat, fish, and dairy except eggs

– Motivations:
– Ethical concerns regarding dairy production practices
– Preference for free-range eggs by ovo-vegetarians
– Avoidance of fertilized eggs like balut by many
– Lactose intolerance and casein allergies affect some
– Differences in industrial practices between dairy and eggs
– Concerns:
– Ethical issues with culling male chicks
– Humane practices for chick culling like maceration
– Distinction between vegan and ovo-vegetarian diets
– Vegans do not consume eggs

– See also:
Lacto vegetarianism
Lacto-ovo vegetarianism
– List of diets
– List of dairy products
– List of vegetable dishes
– References:
– Etymology of phrase ab ovo
– Various resources on chick culling practices
– Books on vegetarianism and ethics
– Authors and chefs related to vegetarianism

Ovo vegetarianism (Wikipedia)

Ovo vegetarianism /ˈv/ is a type of vegetarianism which allows for the consumption of eggs but not dairy products, in contrast with lacto vegetarianism. Those who practice ovo vegetarianism are called ovo-vegetarians. "Ovo" comes from the Latin word for egg.

Ovo-vegetarians consume eggs, but not dairy or animal flesh.
Comparison of selected vegetarian and semi-vegetarian diets (view template)
Plants Dairy Eggs Seafood Poultry All other animals
Vegetarianism Ovo-lacto vegetarianism Yes Yes Yes No No No
Ovo vegetarianism Yes No Yes No No No
Lacto vegetarianism Yes Yes No No No No
Veganism Yes No No No No No
Semi-vegetarianism Flexitarianism Yes Yes Yes Sometimes Sometimes Sometimes
Pollotarianism Yes Maybe Maybe Maybe Yes No
Pescetarianism Yes Maybe Maybe Yes No No
« Back to Glossary Index