Some religious groups have different beliefs regarding food consumption and dietary restrictions.
Similar to Kosher, Muslims have dietary restrictions called the “halal” diet.
Halal foods are all foods that are permissible under Islamic law.
These are foods that undergo specific regulations or guidelines in order to be classified as halal, whereas haram is foods that are forbidden by Islamic law.
It must undergo an acceptable process under Islamic Law to be recognized as halal-certified.
- There are specific procedures to follow when killing a halal animal known as “Zabihah.”
- Any Muslim who has reached puberty is capable of slaughtering an animal.
- Before each slaughter, a one-line blessing called the Tasmiyah must be recited in which God’s name is mentioned.
- Animals need to be alive and healthy at the time of slaughter.
- The instrument must be extremely sharp to achieve humane killing in which the animal is slit at the throat.
- Additionally, the knife must not be sharpened in the presence of animals to avoid stress.
- Blood is not considered Halal. Therefore, blood must be completely drained from the animal.
- The animals must be given grains or a vegetarian diet.
- Growth hormones and antibiotics cannot be administered to the animals.
- Hand slaughtering must be used, not a machine, to kill the animals.
- Animals that have been mistreated, underfed, or otherwise mistreated cannot be killed for Halal meat.
For proper storage methods, make sure you check out my other guide, proper storage of ground beef in the fridge
It is important to always check for the symbol “Halal Certified” in any food or product.
This means that the food contains no haram product or procedure used in the production or process, making it acceptable for Muslims.
Is Beef Halal Or Haram?
Halal in Arabic means “lawful” or “permissible.”
Islam has important rules regarding halal food and proper preparation methods.
Most plant-based food, such as vegetables, are considered acceptable.
Milk, honey, fruits, legumes, and grains are halal.
Meat can be halal if the animal is raised and slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law.
Haram is the Arabic word for “forbidden” or “unlawful”.
This refers to anything that the Qur’an forbids or that, if committed by a Muslim, would be considered a sin, like cheating, stealing, corruption, murder, or anything that can endanger another person.
It can also refer to food and products that are not permissible under Islamic Laws.
Listed below are some of the things that are considered Haram in Islam per the Qur’an
- Swine meat is strictly prohibited in Islam
- Meat that comes from a dead animal
- Blood and intoxicating drinks
- It is also forbidden for Muslims to eat any animal that a Muslim has not killed
- Animals that have not been killed in the name of Allah or in accordance with Islamic rituals are likewise regarded as haram in Islam.
Regardless of faith, there are several benefits to consuming halal meat.
Less prone to contamination – Halal meat follows strict regulations regarding food hygiene.
Some guidelines must be met by the butchers who slaughter the meat.
Aside from this, animals are raised without antibiotics and only given nutrient-rich food.
Animals are raised in a stress-free environment – In Muslim culture, when an animal is being slaughtered, no animals should come near it to avoid stressing out other animals at the time of slaughter.
Stress-free animals are known to taste better.
It is more ethical – Halal slaughter is considered humane and more ethical as it causes less stress and pain than modern farming techniques.
I’m Chris Watson & the Founder of EatForLonger.com. I’m a food and wellbeing enthusiast researching and sharing foodstuffs and simple food-based concepts, such as fasting and clean eating.
I hope it inspires you to make tiny changes to what you eat and when you eat while optimizing your healthspan and all-around well-being.
Read more About Me here.